A Strange Country

Author(s): Muriel Barbery

General Fiction | Fiction

'Where did you come from?' he asked.
'From the bridge,' Petrus answered. 'The bridge that links our world to yours.'
Then, after a silence: 'It is invisible to you.'


During the longest war humankind has endured, two young Spanish officers abandon their post to follow the charismatic Petrus across a bridge only he can see.


In a place of lingering mists, poetry, music and natural wonders, the fate of our world and its living creatures will be decided. Yet this world too is under threat. Will harmony and beauty prevail over darkness and death?


An ode to the power of the imagination, the sequel to The Life of Elves echoes our own global border disputes and climate disaster.


A Strange Country, by the author of The Elegance of the Hedgehog, is a literary fantasy for fans of Kazuo Ishiguro, Margaret Atwood and David Mitchell.   


Product Information

Muriel Barbery is the author of the bestselling The Elegance of the Hedgehog, Gourmet Rhapsody and The Life of Elves. She has lived in Kyoto, Amsterdam and Paris, and now lives in the French countryside.

General Fields

  • : 9781922268983
  • : Text Publishing Company
  • : Text Publishing Company
  • : March 2020
  • : ---length:- '23.4'width:- '15.3'units:- Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : English
  • : 288
  • : Muriel Barbery
  • : Paperback