Buddhas Of The Celestial Gallery

Author: Romio Shrestha
Homepage_9781608871704

Stock information

General Fields

  • : $33.00(AUD)
  • : 9781608871704
  • : UNKNOWN
  • : UNKNOWN
  • :
  • :
  • : February 2013
  • :
  • : United Kingdom
  • : 32.99
  • : April 2013
  • :
  • :
  • : books

Special Fields

  • :
  • :
  • : Romio Shrestha
  • :
  • : Hardback
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • : 64
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • :
Barcode 9781608871704
9781608871704

Description

In the tradition of "Celestial Gallery and Goddesses of the Celestial Gallery, " Romio Shrestha's latest art book gathers striking Tibetan-style mandala paintings featuring the Buddha. These hauntingly powerful paintings depict the life of the deity in eloquent detail and render postmodern interpretations of an age-old Tibetan artistic tradition in which images are painstakingly created using malachite, lapis, and marigolds, and painted at times with three hairs of a cat's tail. These exquisite portrayals of the celestial spheres, known as mandalas, invite viewers to meditate on the Buddha's message of love, completion, and connectedness. Also available in a lavishly illustrated oversize edition

Author description

Romio Shrestha is a modern master of the Indo-Nepali-Tibetan Buddhist traditions of enlightenment art, and his t'angka's can be found in many of the great collections of the world, including the British Museum, the Victoria Albert Museum, the Buchheim Museum, the American Museum of Natural History in New York, and the Newark Museum in New Jersey. Shrestha lives in County Kerry, Ireland
Deepak Chopra is a world-renowned authority in the field of mind-body healing, a best-selling author, and the founder of the Chopra Center for Wellbeing. He is a fellow of the American College of Physicians, a member of the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists, an adjunct professor at Kellogg School of Management, and a senior scientist with the Gallup Organization. Chopra lives in La Jolla, CA.
Ian Baker studied art history, literature, and comparative religion at Oxford and Columbia universities and medical anthropology at University College London. He has written extensively on the art and culture of Tibet and the Himalayas. Recognized by the National Geographic Society as one of seven "Explorers for the Millennium," his additional published works include "The Heart of the World: A Journey to the Last Secret Place; The Dalai Lama's Secret Temple: Tantric Wall Paintings from Tibet;" and the original edition of "Celestial Gallery." He lived in Kathmandu, Nepal, for more than twenty-five years and has studied with some of the greatest luminaries of Tibetan Buddhism, including H. H. the Dalai Lama. Baker lives in New York City