Summer (Seasons Quartet 4)

Author(s): Karl Ove Knausgaard; Ingvild Burkey (Translator); Anselm Kiefer (Illustrator)


Summer is the fourth volume of the Seasons quartet, a collection of short prose and diaries written by a father for his youngest daughter, with stunning artwork by Anselm Kiefer.

Your voice woke me up around eight this morning, it sounded unusually close, since, as I discovered upon opening my eyes, you were lying in our bed. You smiled at me and began talking. I made coffee and had a smoke in the office before I ate breakfast with you, and when your mother got up, I came in here to write a new piece.

In Summer, Karl Ove Knausgaard writes about long days full of sunlight, eating ice cream with his children, lawn sprinklers and ladybirds. He experiments with the beginnings of a novel and keeps a diary in which the small events of his family's life are recorded. Against a canvas of memories, longings, and experiences of art and literature, he searches for the meaning of moments as they pass us by.


Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Karl Ove Knausgaard (Author) Karl Ove Knausgaard's first novel, Out of the World, was the first ever debut novel to win the Norwegian Critics Prize and his second, A Time to Every Purpose Under Heaven, was widely acclaimed. A Death in the Family, the first of the My Struggle cycle of novels, was awarded the prestigious Brage Prize. The My Struggle cycle has been heralded as a masterpiece all over the world.

General Fields

  • : 9781910701690
  • : Vintage Publishing
  • : Harvill Secker
  • : May 2018
  • : 211mm X 132mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : June 2018
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 416
  • : Karl Ove Knausgaard; Ingvild Burkey (Translator); Anselm Kiefer (Illustrator)
  • : Hardback
  • : Anselm Kiefer
  • : English
  • : 839.8238