Scrublands

Author(s): Chris Hammer

Crime Fiction

A powerful, compelling, vividly written Australian crime novel that will be perfect for fans of Peter May and Jane Harper.


A dead river. A dying town. A killer's secrets...

In an isolated country town ravaged by drought, a charismatic young priest opens fire on his congregation, killing five men before being shot dead himself.


A year later, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend to write a feature on the anniversary of the tragedy. But the stories he hears from the locals don't fit with the accepted version of events.


Just as Martin believes he is making headway, a shocking discovery rocks the town. The bodies of two backpackers - missing since the time of the massacre - are found in the scrublands. The media descends on Riversend and Martin is the one in the spotlight.


Wrestling with his own demons, Martin finds himself risking everything to uncover a truth that becomes more complex with every twist. But there are powerful forces determined to stop him, and he has no idea how far they will go to make sure the town's secrets stay buried.

$32.99(AUD)


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781760632984
  • : Allen & Unwin
  • : Allen & Unwin
  • : July 2018
  • : ---length:- '23.4'width:- '15.3'units:- Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Chris Hammer
  • : Paperback
  • : English