A Head Full of Ghosts

Author(s): Paul Tremblay

General Fiction

WINNER OF THE 2015 BRAM STOKER AWARD FOR SUPERIOR ACHIEVEMENT IN A NOVEL


A chilling thriller that brilliantly blends psychological suspense and supernatural horror, reminiscent of Stephen King's The Shining, Shirley Jackson's The Haunting of Hill House, and William Peter Blatty's The Exorcist.


The lives of the Barretts, a normal suburban New England family, are torn apart when fourteen-year-old Marjorie begins to display signs of acute schizophrenia.


To her parents' despair, the doctors are unable to stop Marjorie's descent into madness. As their stable home devolves into a house of horrors, they reluctantly turn to a local Catholic priest for help. Father Wanderly suggests an exorcism; he believes the vulnerable teenager is the victim of demonic possession. He also contacts a production company that is eager to document the Barretts' plight. With John, Marjorie's father, out of work for more than a year and the medical bills looming, the family agrees to be filmed, and soon find themselves the unwitting stars of The Possession, a hit reality television show. When events in the Barrett household explode in tragedy, the show and the shocking incidents it captures become the stuff of urban legend.


Fifteen years later, a bestselling writer interviews Marjorie's younger sister, Merry. As she recalls those long ago events that took place when she was just eight years old, long-buried secrets and painful memories that clash with what was broadcast on television begin to surface--and a mind-bending tale of psychological horror is unleashed, raising vexing questions about memory and reality, science and religion, and the very nature of evil.

$16.99(AUD)


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

A standalone blend of literary fiction, psychological suspense, and supernatural horror from the award-winning author of A Head Full of Ghosts. For fans of Stephen King, Shirley Jackson and Mark Z. Danielewski.

"A Head Full of Ghosts scared the living hell out of me, and I'm pretty hard to scare." Stephan King. "Weather psychological or supernatural, this is a work of deviously subtle horror." Publishers Weekly (starred review) on A Head Full of Ghosts.

Paul Tremblay is a multiple Bram Stoker Award finalist and author of the crime novels The Little Sleep and No Sleep Till Wonderland. He has served as the president of the board of directors of the Shirley Jackson Awards, and his essays and short fiction have appeared in the Los Angeles Times and numerous year's-best anthologies. He has a master's degree in mathematics and lives outside Boston with his wife and two children.

General Fields

  • : 9781785653674
  • : Titan Books Limited
  • : Titan Books Limited
  • : September 2016
  • : 198mm X 130mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : January 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 400
  • : Paul Tremblay
  • : Paperback
  • : 813.6