Chicago

Author(s): David Mamet

General Fiction

A big-shouldered, big-trouble thriller set in mobbed-up 1920s Chicago-a city where some people knew too much, and where everyone should have known better-by the Oscar-nominated screenwriter of The Untouchables and Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright of Glengarry Glen Ross.Mike Hodge-veteran of the Great War, big shot of the Chicago Tribune, medium fry-probably shouldn't have fallen in love with Annie Walsh. Then, again, maybe the man who killed Annie Walsh have known better than to trifle with Mike Hodge.In Chicago, David Mamet has created a bracing, kaleidoscopic page-turner that roars through the Windy City's underground on its way to a thunderclap of a conclusion. Here is not only his first novel in more than two decades, but the book he has been building to for his whole career. Mixing some of his most brilliant fictional creations with actual figures of the era, suffused with trademark "Mamet Speak," richness of voice, pace, and brio, and exploring-as no other writer can-questions of honor, deceit, revenge, and devotion, Chicago is that rarest of literary creations: a book that combines spectacular elegance of craft with a kinetic wallop as fierce as the February wind gusting off Lake Michigan.

$30.00(AUD)


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Acclaimed playwright (Glengarry Glen Ross) and screenwriter (The Untouchables) Mamet unpacks his literary arsenal in his first novel in two decades...Mamet offers a master class on dialogue...For readers of Elmore Leonard and Dennis Lehane.--Booklist "The story moves at a careening pace... Of a piece with character studies such as E.L. Doctorow's Ragtime and John Sayles' Eight Men Out, Mamet's book does Chicago--and organized crime--proud. An evocative, impressive return that Mamet fans will welcome."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

General Fields

  • : 9780062847102
  • : HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • : HarperCollins
  • : November 2017
  • : February 2018
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 318
  • : English
  • : 813
  • : David Mamet
  • : Paperback