The Doll Factory A Novel

Author: Elizabeth Macneal
Homepage 9781529002393

Stock information

General Fields

  • : $32.99(AUD)
  • : 9781529002393
  • : Pan Macmillan
  • : Picador
  • :
  • : 0.52
  • : May 2019
  • : 3.8 Centimeters X 14.4 Centimeters X 22.4 Centimeters
  • :
  • : 32.99
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • : books

Special Fields

  • :
  • :
  • : Elizabeth Macneal
  • :
  • : Hardback
  • :
  • :
  • : English
  • : 823/.92
  • :
  • :
  • : 336
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • :
Barcode 9781529002393
9781529002393

Description

The #1 International Bestseller


 


New York Times Editor's Choice


 


"A lush, evocative Gothic." --The New York Times Book Review


 


"This terrifically exciting novel will jolt, thrill, and bewitch readers." --Booklist, starred review


 


Obsession is an art.


 


In this "sharp, scary, gorgeously evocative tale of love, art, and obsession" (Paula Hawkins, bestselling author of The Girl on the Train), a beautiful young woman aspires to be an artist, while a man's dark obsession may destroy her world forever.


 


In 1850s London, the Great Exhibition is being erected in Hyde Park and, among the crowd watching the dazzling spectacle, two people meet by happenstance. For Iris, an arrestingly attractive aspiring artist, it is a brief and forgettable moment but for Silas, a curiosity collector enchanted by all things strange and beautiful, the meeting marks a new beginning.


 


When Iris is asked to model for Pre-Raphaelite artist Louis Frost, she agrees on the condition that he will also teach her to paint. Suddenly, her world begins to expand beyond her wildest dreams--but she has no idea that evil is waiting in the shadows. Silas has only thought of one thing since that chance meeting, and his obsession is darkening by the day.


 


"A page-turning psychological thriller" (Essie Fox, author of The Somnambulist) that will haunt you long after you finish it, The Doll Factory is perfect for fans of The Alienist, Drood, and The Historian.