The Milkman in the Night

Author(s): Andrey Kurkov

General Fiction

Semyon is disturbed. He has woken up in the living room with blood on his shirt, an angry wife and no idea where he was the night before. After waking to find his boots and overcoat damp on several mornings in a row, Semyon realises his excursions are a nightly occurrence. Concerned for his own safety and for the security of his marriage, he asks his friend and business partner Volodka to follow him on his nocturnal wanderings. The next morning, Volodka gives Semyon a full report. He left the apartment a little after 2 a.m. and walked several blocks until he encountered a tall blonde, whom he kissed and accompanied to her door. But when he visits the address in the daytime, the bemused Semyon doesn't recognise the location. And stranger yet, someone has been watching Volodka watching Semyon. As the adventure unfurls, an unemployed sniffer-dog handler makes a dangerous discovery, a single mother provides breast milk for an unusual recipient, and a vengeful cat is on the loose. All in all, there are some very strange goings-on in Kiev.

$23.00(AUD)


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

A new masterpiece from the author of the cult classic Death and the Penguin.

"A glorious, epic, eccentric and often hilarious satire, heavily tinged with Russian melancholy" -- Kate Saunders The Times "There is much to enjoy in this book. Kurkov works in the tradition of Nikolai Gogol and Mikhail Bulgakov, blending folkloric characters, magical realism and political satire to reveal a society riddled with greed, stupidity and corruption" -- Marina Lewycka Financial Times "Good-hearted and brutal at the same time, The Milkman in the Night is a complex, unsettling mixture of bleakness and warmth" Sunday Times "Kurkov is hugely talented" Time Out "This book is a joyride... Kurkov has a rollercoaster of fun between zig and zag. He defies the reader not to join him" Scotsman

Andrey Kurkov was born in St Petersburg in 1961. Having graduated from the Kiev Foreign Languages Institute, he worked for some time as a journalist, did his military service as a prison warder in Odessa, then became a film cameraman, writer of screenplays and author of critically acclaimed and popular novels.

General Fields

  • : 9780099548867
  • : Vintage
  • : Vintage
  • : August 2012
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : August 2012
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Andrey Kurkov
  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : 891.735
  • : 480