Time Lived, Without Its Flow

Author(s): Denise Riley

General Fiction

'I work to earth my heart.'


Time Lived, Without Its Flow is an astonishing, unflinching essay on the nature of grief from critically acclaimed poet Denise Riley. From the horrific experience of maternal grief Riley wrote her lauded collection Say Something Back, a modern classic of British poetry.


This essay is a companion piece to that work, looking at the way time stops when we lose someone suddenly from our lives. A book of two discrete halves, the first half is formed of diary-like entries written by Riley after the news of her son's death, the entries building to paint a live portrait of loss. The second half is a ruminative post script written some years later with Riley looking back at the experience philosophically and attempting to map through it a literature of consolation.


Written in precise and exacting prose, with remarkable insight and grace this book will form kind counsel to all those living on in the wake of grief. A modern-day counterpart to C. S. Lewis's A Grief Observed.


Published widely for the first time, this revised edition features a brand new introduction by Max Porter, author of Grief is A Thing With Feathers.


A beautiful, short philosophical memoir of maternal loss and grief, for readers of Max Porter and Helen MacDonald.


 

$19.99(AUD)


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

'Her writing is perfectly weighted, justifies its existence' - Guardian

 Denise Riley is a critically acclaimed writer of both philosophy and poetry. She is currently Professor of the History of Ideas and of Poetry at UEA. Her visiting positions have included A.D. White Professor at Cornell University in the US, Writer in Residence at the Tate Gallery in London, and Visiting Fellow at Birkbeck College in the University of London. She has taught philosophy, art history, poetics, and creative writing. She is the author of Say Something Back and lives in London. 

General Fields

  • : 9781529017106
  • : Pan Macmillan
  • : Picador
  • : September 2019
  • : ---length:- '17.8'width:- '11.1'units:- Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 96
  • : Denise Riley
  • : Hardback
  • : English
  • : 128.5