April in Paris 1921

Author(s): Tessa Lunney

History

Meet the glamorous, witty and charming Kiki Button: socialite, private detective and spy. We all have secrets - it's just that Kiki has more than most ... For fans of Phryne Fisher and Julian Fellowes


It's 1921, and after two years at home in Australia, Katherine King Button has had enough. Her rich parents have ordered her to get married, but after serving as a nurse during the horrors of the Great War, she has vowed never to take orders again. She flees her parents and the prison of their expectations for the place of friendship and freedom: Paris.


 


Paris in 1921 is the city of freedom, the place where she can remake herself as Kiki Button, gossip columnist extraordinaire, partying with the rich and famous, the bohemian and bold, the suspicious and strange.


 


But on the modelling dais, Picasso gives her a job: to find his wife's portrait, which has gone mysteriously missing. That same night, her old spymaster from the war contacts her - she has to find a double agent or face jail. Through parties, whisky and informants, Kiki has to use every ounce of her determination, her wit and her wiles to save herself, the man she adores, and the life she has come to love - in just one week.


Playful, charming, witty and very, very entertaining, Kiki Button - the fearless, beautiful and blonde-bobbed Australienne - is a heroine to win hearts.


 


Product Information

'Kikki Button lives by her wits, her style and an irrepressible joie de vivre' Sulari Gentill, author, A Few Right Thinking Men

'Fascinating characters, beautifully written.' Kate Williams, New York Times bestselling author of Becoming Queen Victoria

 

 

'Tessa Lunney brilliantly evokes the Annees folles of the Roaring Twenties as her heroine?an Australian debutante-turned-nurse-turned-spy?Kiki Button traipses through Paris's sensual bohemian culture hunting for a World War I mole and stolen Pablo Picasso painting.' Julie McElwain, author of A Murder in Time

 

General Fields

  • : 9781460755778
  • : HarperCollins Publishers Australia
  • : Fourth Estate
  • : May 2018
  • : 2.5 Centimeters X 15.5 Centimeters X 23.5 Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 2018
  • : 320
  • : Tessa Lunney
  • : Paperback