My Red Heaven

Author(s): Lance Olsen

General Fiction

Set on a single day in 1927, My Red Heaven imagines a host of characters--some historic, some invented--crossing paths on the streets of Berlin.


The subjects include Robert Musil, Otto Dix, Werner Heisenberg, Anita Berber, Vladimir Nabokov, K the Kollwitz, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, and Rosa Luxemburg--as well as others history has forgotten: a sommelier, a murderer, a prostitute, a pickpocket, and several ghosts.


Drawing inspiration from Otto Freundlich's painting by the same name, My Red Heaven explores a complex moment in history: the rise of deadly populism at a time when everything seemed possible and the future unimaginable. A terrific read for fans of Richard Powers' The Overstory and Colum McCann's Let the Great World Spin.


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781950539031
  • : Dzanc Books
  • : Dzanc Books
  • : February 2020
  • : ---length:- '22.9'width:- '15.2'units:- Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Lance Olsen
  • : Paperback
  • : 200