W.B. Yeats

Author(s): W.B. Yeats


W. B. Yeats (1865-1939) was not only Ireland's greatest poet but one of the most influential voices in world literature in the twentieth century. His extraordinary work, in the words of this volume's editor Seamus Heaney, encourages us to be more resolutely and abundantly alive, whatever the conditions. Other volumes in this series include: "Auden", "Betjemen", "Eliot", "Hughes", and "Plath".

Product Information

One of six wonderful poetry collections published to celebrate Faber's 80th anniversary

Seamus Heaney was born in County Derry in Northern Ireland. Death of a Naturalist, his first collection of poems, appeared in 1966 and since then he has published poetry, criticism and translations - including Beowulf (1999) - which have established him as one of the leading poets now at work. In 1995 he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature. District and Circle (2006), his eleventh collection, was awarded the T. S. Eliot Prize. Stepping Stones, a book of interviews conducted by Dennis O'Driscoll, appeared in 2008. In 2009 he received the David Cohen Prize for Literature.

General Fields

  • : 9780571247349
  • : Faber & Faber, Limited
  • : Faber & Faber, Limited
  • : 0.235
  • : May 2009
  • : 204mm X 133mm X 16mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : W.B. Yeats
  • : Hardback
  • : 80th anniversary edition
  • : en
  • : 821.8
  • : 160