Selected Poems of Derek Walcott

Author(s): Derek Walcott


This new "Selected Poems" offers an ordered retrospective of the fertile career of Derek Walcott, spanning six decades and drawing on twelve collections. Winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1992, Walcott has, in the words of Seamus Heaney, 'moved with gradually deepening confidence to found his own poetic domain, independent of the tradition he inherited yet not altogether orphaned from it'.


Add to Wishlist

Product Information

A thorough retrospective of one of the most important English-language poets.

"The magnitude of Walcott's achievement . . . is on lavish display in his updated "Selected Poems," which spans a half-century of his protean output and highlights the formal prowess of the progressively ambitious work he's produced over the last twenty years . . . confirming the incantatory powers of an oracle the likes of which the New World hasn't seen since Prospero drowned his book." --David Barber, "The ""Boston"" Globe""" ""Selected Poems" allows us the rare pleasure of tracing a long career, a full life . . . Timeless in [its] magic and cumulative power . . . Luminous [and] engaging." --Richard Wakefield, "The ""Seattle"" Times"

Derek Walcott was born in St Lucia in 1930. His Collected Poems 1948-1984 was published in 1986, and his subsequent works include Omeros (1990), Tiepolo's Hound (2000) and The Prodigal (2005). He received the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1992.

General Fields

  • : 9780571227112
  • : Faber & Faber
  • : Faber & Faber Poetry
  • : 0.351
  • : January 2008
  • : 198mm X 132mm X 17mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Derek Walcott
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : 811
  • : 288