The Long Drop

Author(s): Denise Mina

Crime Fiction

'This book is so, so good. Forensic, beautiful and gripping' GRAHAM NORTON **WINNER OF THE 2017 MCILVANNEY PRIZE FOR SCOTTISH CRIME BOOK OF THE YEAR** **CHOSEN BY THE TELEGRAPH AS ONE OF THE BEST CRIME BOOKS OF 2017** **CHOSEN BY THE FINANCIAL TIMES AS ONE OF THE BEST CRIME BOOKS OF 2017** **CHOSEN BY THE GUARDIAN AS ONE OF THE BEST CRIME BOOKS OF 2017** **CHOSEN BY THE SCOTSMAN AS ONE OF THE BEST CRIME BOOKS OF 2017** Glasgow, 1957. It is a December night and William Watt is desperate. His family has been murdered and he needs to find out who killed them. He arrives at a bar to meet Peter Manuel, who claims he can get hold of the gun that was used. But Watt soon realises that this infamous criminal will not give up information easily. Inspired by true events, The Long Drop follows Watt and Manuel along back streets and into smoky pubs, and on to the courtroom where the murder trial takes place. Can Manuel really be trusted to tell the truth? And how far will Watt go to get what he wants? 'The extraordinary story of a 1950s Glasgow murder mystery' Guardian 'A masterpiece by the woman who may be Britain's finest living crime novelist' Daily Telegraph 'Absorbing... this is a bravura performance, a true original' Ian Rankin 'Revisits a dark episode in Glasgow's past... Mina navigates the uneasy territory between fact and fiction with consummate grace' Val McDermid


Add to Wishlist

Product Information

"Mina's novels are engrossing, deeply rooted in reality and astutely perceptive about human nature" Daily Express "Powerful, passionate and compelling. Mina can chill your blood and break your heart in the same sentence" -- Mark Billingham "Why do Scottish writers dominate British crime fiction? With Denise Mina at least, the answer is pure class" Daily Telegraph "A wonderfully punchy evocation of a legendary murder mystery, packed with the authentic sights, sounds and intrigues of Glasgow in the late Fifties." -- Robert Goddard "One of the most exciting writers to have emerged in Britain for years." -- Ian Rankin

After a peripatetic childhood in Glasgow, Paris, London, Invergordon, Bergen and Perth, Denise Mina left school at 16 before doing her law degree at Glasgow University. She subsequently studied for a PhD at Strathclyde. Her first novel, Garnethill, was published in 1988 and won the CWA John Creasy Dagger for Best First Crime Novel. She has published 12 novels including the Garnethill series, Paddy Meehan and Alex Morrow series'. She has been nominated for many prizes including the CWA Gold Dagger and has won the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award twice. In addition to novels, Denise has also written plays and graphic novels including the graphic novel adaptation of The Girl With A Dragon Tattoo. In 2014, she was inducted into the Crime Writers' Association Hall of Fame and was a judge for the Bailey's Prize. She has also presented TV and radio programmes as well as appearing regularly in the media. She lives and works in Glasgow.

General Fields

  • : 9781911215240
  • : Random House
  • : Harvill Secker
  • : March 2017
  • : 234mm X 153mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : March 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 240
  • : Denise Mina
  • : Paperback
  • : 317
  • : English
  • : 823/.914